How to Check Used Car Before Buying - DIY Inspection

Loading...
  • Published on: 30 December 2011
  • Used car inspection. How to check a used car before buying. Used car DIY inspection and buying guide with Scotty Kilmer. Tips and tricks to see if a car needs major repairs. How to quickly check a used car before you buy it. DIY car repair with Scotty Kilmer, an auto mechanic for the last 50 years.

    ⬇️Scotty’s Top DIY Tools:
    1. Bluetooth Scan Tool: http://amzn.to/2nfvmaD
    2. Cheap Scan Tool: https://amzn.to/2D8Tvae
    3. Professional Socket Set: http://amzn.to/2Bzmccg
    4. Wrench Set: http://amzn.to/2kmBaOU
    5. No Charging Required Car Jump Starter: https://amzn.to/2CthnUU
    6. Battery Pack Car Jump Starter: http://amzn.to/2nrc6qR

    ⬇️Things used in this video:
    1. Actron Scan Tool: http://amzn.to/2ngeCQJ
    2. Steel Jack: http://amzn.to/2Asgjxo
    3. Jack Stand: http://amzn.to/2jGOwBg
    1. Disposable Gloves: http://amzn.to/2zSRuxO
    2. Common Sense
    3. Full HD Camera: http://amzn.to/2AvoEk7
    4. My computer for editing / uploading: http://amzn.to/2i2sKYz
    5. Video editing software: http://amzn.to/2jv5Fhf
    6. Thumbnail software: http://amzn.to/2k7tz6C

    🛠Check out my Garage to see what I use every day and highly recommend:
    https://www.amazon.com/shop/scottykilmer

    ❗️Check out the Scotty store:
    https://goo.gl/RwhRGU

    👉Follow me on Instagram for the latest news, funnies, and exclusive info / pics:
    https://goo.gl/ohy2cA

    If you liked this video, consider subscribing and press the bell Icon to get updated on the newest repair video every week.

    And remember, every TUESDAY I upload a new video on the Scotty Kilmer Channel on YouTube, https://www.youtube.com/user/scottykilmer

    Also, if you like my car help, be sure to watch my live car talk show every Thursday afternoon at 1 CST and Saturday morning at 10 AM CST on YouTube. I answer your car questions LIVE there. Just check it out at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yQtdBelbqdg
  • Runtime : 4:35
  • used quickly check car used car check used car quickly check check used car used car buying car purchase how to check a used car for sale buying a used car buying a used car tips scotty kilmer used car buying advice used car buying tips what to look for when buying a car how to inspect used car how to check used car used car inspection how to buy car buying cars repair car diy how to check used car before buying how to check car diy car inspection

COMMENTS: 40

  • Scotty Kilmer
    Scotty Kilmer   2 years ago

    ⬇️Scotty’s Top DIY Tools: 1. Bluetooth Scan Tool: http://amzn.to/2nfvmaD 2. Cheap Scan Tool: https://amzn.to/2D8Tvae 3. Professional Socket Set: http://amzn.to/2Bzmccg 4. Wrench Set: http://amzn.to/2kmBaOU 5. No Charging Required Car Jump Starter: https://amzn.to/2CthnUU 6. Battery Pack Car Jump Starter: http://amzn.to/2nrc6qR ⬇️Things used in this video:1. Actron Scan Tool: http://amzn.to/2ngeCQJ 2. Steel Jack: http://amzn.to/2Asgjxo3. Jack Stand: http://amzn.to/2jGOwBg1. Disposable Gloves: http://amzn.to/2zSRuxO2. Common Sense3. Full HD Camera: http://amzn.to/2AvoEk74. My computer for editing / uploading: http://amzn.to/2i2sKYz5. Video editing software: http://amzn.to/2jv5Fhf6. Thumbnail software: http://amzn.to/2k7tz6C👉Follow me on Instagram for the latest news, funnies, and exclusive info / pics:https://goo.gl/ohy2cA

  • sherzad amin
    sherzad amin   12 hours ago

    the owner would not let you to check the vehicle like that

  • Freaky Fusion
    Freaky Fusion   3 days ago

    Wow, mechanics have it made down in Texas. Everything rusts to hell up here in the rust belt

  • David MYG
    David MYG   5 days ago

    Who is here planning to buy used car?

  • SJLGG
    SJLGG   2 weeks ago

    House being sold next to Scotty for 894k

  • chance lawler
    chance lawler   2 weeks ago

    My gf thinks your funny Scotty , stay away from my woman

  • Charles
    Charles   3 weeks ago

    I am from san Antonio Texas. I am seriously looking for a nice used car.

  • Crystal Herrera
    Crystal Herrera   3 weeks ago

    Hi Scotty - how do we find your professional information in the event we live in the same city and would like to use your services as a mechanic? Are you accepting new customers? I live in Houston,Tx and I’m in the market for a reliable mechanic!

  • Mufasa Robin
    Mufasa Robin   1 months ago

    Don't buy cars from Nigerian, Persians and Hispanic junk dealers. They alter the milage inorder to sell the cars for high price...

  • Mufasa Robin
    Mufasa Robin   1 months ago

    And you also need to bring your own measurements to make sure the car is still the same size.

  • Meanwhile
    Meanwhile   1 months ago

    This dudes awesome 🙌🏽

  • Ebony Hayes
    Ebony Hayes   1 months ago

    Ebony HayesNever seen Scotty so proud & happy than in that stingray 👍🏽😂🤣

  • otr GG
    otr GG   1 months ago

    Bought this vw golf 2007 for 800 British pound, I test drive it drives fine I’m worried bcos when my friend looked at it in the morning open the hood and the air intake was missing and the engine was cleaned, to hide anything or if it was jet washed been parked on dry concrete everyday no leaks or anything The guy said the car was deep cleaned, been driving it to work for a month 60miles a day any idea

  • Opotiki#01 MOKOMOKO
    Opotiki#01 MOKOMOKO   1 months ago

    I'm so glad that you Help us from getting ripped off 👌👌👌👌

  • MEXCAN FUN
    MEXCAN FUN   1 months ago

    I have been a mechanic in Mexico for 45 years. Scotty knows what he is talking about.

  • Tiny Rick
    Tiny Rick   1 months ago

    Perfect except for the part where he said "Bring it to a mechanic like me"; There are NONE like you!

  • J. Ket
    J. Ket   2 months ago

    sooo thankful for people like Scotty!🙏

  • Doroteo Garcia
    Doroteo Garcia   2 months ago

    Damn. Are sure miss these old intros with the corvette or mustang compared to the new intros with the speed odometer! Who agrees?

  • Akash Deep
    Akash Deep   2 months ago

    nice video, what do you say about used car from car rental like Heartz, Enterprise? 1 year old with 30-40k miles on it?

  • ammar baiazid
    ammar baiazid   2 months ago

    Hey what do you think of the 2008 grand Cherokee with the Mercedes diesel engine

  • SaSpursfan
    SaSpursfan   2 months ago

    the violent neck nods scotty does gets me every time!

  • lastcall170
    lastcall170   2 months ago

    Bring your jack and diagnostics tool to the dealership. They will appreciate it .

  • Jules Verne
    Jules Verne   2 months ago

    I followed your advice and I bought a Toyota rav 4 thanks 😍

  • Michael Thomas
    Michael Thomas   2 months ago

    I think people just dislike videos just to dislike him. This man just dropped so much gems and 1.2k people are like, “F all that knowledge and helpful info bruh” Smh, this man is a God sent.

  • Garlic Girl
    Garlic Girl   2 months ago

    I had my mechanic check car before buying. He was great at teaching me what to do in buying process.

  • Antonio Jay
    Antonio Jay   3 months ago

    It'd be more helpful if he showed what's wrong. Do this with a lemon instead please

  • Junior Felix
    Junior Felix   3 months ago

    hey scotty, i don't do much traveling or driving work very long hours. my question is- should i buy or lease a car?

  • Gori Classified
    Gori Classified   3 months ago

    I'm curious, what's the amount of miles on this car when Scotty tested it?

  • Ray Gonzalez
    Ray Gonzalez   3 months ago

    Check the engine and transmission oil, along with other fluids

  • Kiet Tan
    Kiet Tan   3 months ago

    You are awesome!! Keep posting please!